The flight - Reisverslag uit Houston, Verenigde Staten van Matthijs Wondergem - WaarBenJij.nu The flight - Reisverslag uit Houston, Verenigde Staten van Matthijs Wondergem - WaarBenJij.nu

The flight

Door: Matthijs Wondergem

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Matthijs

15 Augustus 2016 | Verenigde Staten, Houston

So, right now it's 6:24 P.M. and I am sitting in Gate B21 on the airport in Houston, Texas. It's raining really hard at the moment which is strange because I thought when I left in Holland it would take a while before I would see rain again, so there was the first surprise.

The first flight I flew with another exchange student, Marit. The flight itself went pretty good. Security in Schiphol went flawless and when we walked to the very last gate and got some coffee on the way we sat down a waited to begin boarding. Marit got her boarding pass scanned first and then I scanned mine. That was okay but after that, ofcourse, the security officer would point to me and i had to open my bags and he would search me. Ofcourse he did not find naything alarming and he wished me a goodday and we proceeded. Thought I didn't look that threathening, but perhaps I was wrong :).

On the plane we had a small tv screen we could watch movies off which was pretty comforting because by watching movies the time went by really fast. I did not get that much sleep though, I think about an hour and after that I couldn't sleep anymore. After we landed we proceeded to customs, Houstons aiport is huge so it took us a while before we actually got there. When we did, there was a whole lot of people and a lot of lines waiting for us. We decided to just go with the crowd and stand at the back of the huge line. After I think 40 minutes we finally were able to go through customs and to the bagage dropoff. when we got our suitcases we walked to the exit check and after waiting in line for just another 20 minutes, roughly, we walked to the bagage checkinn because we both had connecting flights and our lugage was labelled through to our final destination. Then we had to go through security again to get to the gates. Again I was 'the Sjaak' when my backpack went through the X-ray and it got pulled aside. Again the couldn't find anything harmfull or alarming and pulled out a water bottle and threw it away and that was it.

After the security we checked where Marits next flight would leave and looked for somewhere to eat because for us it was about 9 P.M. and we didnt had anything to eat yet, well. The food that they served on the plane was not that I would call food but we will leave it be. After we, where ofcourse my bankcard was denied! (luckily I had Dollars with me before I leftt). We went to Marits gate and waited untill she could board her plane.

And now I am waiting for my flight that would originally would leave 9:25 PM but has been delayed for 37 minutes just moments ago.

After all: a really adventurous beginning of my even bigger adventure! As long as I don't get stuck at this airport I'm satisfied

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 03:57

    Prissssssssss:

    Yaaay Its in english!!

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 04:28

    Marjan:

    Ha Matthijs, dat is leuk, een blog. Leuk om te lezen, hoewel vertraging minder leuk is natuurlijk. Succes met je ondertussen 2uur wachten. :-( Wakker blijven!
    Benieuwd naar je volgende verhaal; -)

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 08:51

    Hetty:

    Hey..wat is dat toch met jou..waarom moet jij iedere controle nét wat langer bezoeken??
    Leuk om te lezen! Succes verder!

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 18:45

    Karin Schaapman :

    Hahaha, "the Sjaak", I like that one

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 18:56

    Ard En Jolanda Wondergem:

    Fijn dat je er bent!!

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 19:12

    Benita:

    Ja, die Hollandse pot ga je misschien wel missen!

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 19:39

    Liesbeth:

    Je moeder zal blij zijn dat je weer met both legs on the ground bent. Have a good time!

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 19:52

    Opa En Oma:

    Hoi Matthijs ,
    fijn dat je er bent .xxxxx

  • 15 Augustus 2016 - 20:14

    Dick En Anjo:

    Ha Matthijs,
    Fijn dat je er bent, we gaan je zeker volgen!

  • 17 Augustus 2016 - 21:39

    Oma Verhoek:

    Hoe is het daar?Koud? warm?Een beetje gezelligheid We zijn blij dat de reis goed gegaan is daaag

  • 20 Augustus 2016 - 11:41

    Herman En Greet:

    Matthijs , we wensen je een mooi jaar

  • 24 Augustus 2016 - 22:13

    Annegreet:

    Leuk te lezen Matthijs, geniet!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Matthijs

This will be my blog for this upcoming exhange year. I will try to post as many exciting stories and adventurous here as I can. Language errors will happen but I hope I can give you a little insight on this adventure that is starting right now!

Actief sinds 15 Aug. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 605
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2463

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Augustus 2016 - 17 Juni 2017

My Exchange year in Lamesa, TX - 16/17

Landen bezocht: